‘Our Favorite Beres Hammond Songs’ Brand new on Penthouse Records

‘Our Favorite Beres Hammond Songs’ is a musical tribute to reggae balladeer Beres Hammond. The album has been produced by Donovan Germain for Penthouse Records and will include cover versions of Beres Hammond songs by artists like Marcia Griffiths, Richie Stephens, Nadine Sutherland, Jah Cure, Tarrus Riley, Busy Signal, Romain Virgo and Alaine amongst others. The album will also feature a brand new track by Beres himself called ‘Fire & Ice’ along with a remix of the track with Busy Signal.  Penthouse Records will release the album in February 2011.

Even though Beres Hammond had been recording since 1973, it took until the mid ’80s before he achieved recognition in the reggae and dancehall scene with hits like ‘What One Dance Can Do’, She Loves Me Now’ and ‘Groovy Little Thing’. In the meantime Beres had been the lead vocalist for reggae band Zap Pow, recorded his debut album ‘Soul Reggae’ and the hit ‘One Step Ahead’ with guitarist/producer Willie Lindo, released further soul and disco influenced albums for Joe Gibbs and Willie Lindo and set up his label Harmony House.  In 1990 further international succes came with ‘Tempted To Touch’ and the album ‘A Love Affair’ produced by Donovan Germain. Since then Beres proved to be one of the big singers in the dancehall with a further string of hits on Donovan Germain’s Penthouse label, the Xterminator label of Phillip ‘Fattis’ Burell and Richard ‘Bello’ Bell’s Star Trail imprint amongst others. In 1994 he even inked a deal with Elektra Records for the release of his album ‘In Control’. Beres’ career had already been captured on the double CD ‘Can’t Stop A Man: Ultimate Collection’ released on VP Records in 2003, but with the album ‘Our Favorite Beres Hammond Songs’ he will now also be honoured from within the reggae dancehall industry.


Disc One

  1. Tessanne – Step Aside
  2. Lukie D – Love From A Distance
  3. Singing Melody – I’m So In Love
  4. Tarrus Riley – Groovy Little Thing
  5. Nikki Burt – Irie & Mello
  6. Duane Stephenson – Black Beauty
  7. Sherieta – Putting Up Resistance
  8. Stevie Face – Full Attention
  9. Cameal Davis – Love Means Never To Say You’re Sorry
  10. Romain Virgo – Double Trouble
  11. Alaine – No Disturb Sign

Disc Two

  1. Jah Cure – Emptiness
  2. Busy Signal – Tempted To Touch
  3. Marcia Griffiths – Reggae Calling
  4. Torch – Freedom
  5. Chevaughn – Got To Get Away
  6. Nadine Sutherland – One Step Ahead
  7. Hezron – If Only You Knew
  8. A.J. Brown – Preacher Man
  9. Tony Curtis – Lovely Day
  10. Richie Stephens & Niquet Goldson – What One Dance Can Do/She Loves Me Now/Come Back Home (Medley)
  11. Beres Hammond – Fire & Ice
  12. Alaine & Assassin – No Disturb Sign (Remix)
  13. Beres Hammond & Busy Signal – Fire & Ice (Remix)

All tracks produced by Donovan Germain and arranged by Donovan Germain and Steven ‘Lenky’ Marsden, except track 4 (Disc One) produced and arranged by Dean ‘Cannon’ Fraser

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *