Soundtrack "MARLEY MOVIE" to be released on april 16th ‘12

The Third World’s first superstar and arguably the most recognizable human being on the planet, reggae giant BOB MARLEY is celebrated this year in a film by award-winning director Kevin MacDonald (‘One Day In September’, ‘State Of Play’, ‘The Last King Of Scotland’, ‘Touching The Void’ and ‘Life In A Day’). ‘MARLEY’, which received a rapturous reception at its premiere at the Berlin Film Festival on Feb 12th, will be released in the UK on 20th April ’12 through Universal Pictures and features stunning live performances, intimate interviews with friends and family, and rare documentary footage, which tells the definitive story of the superstar who rose from the ghetto to become one of the greats of popular music before dying tragically young at the height of his fame.

BOB MARLEY was born February 6, 1945 in rural St. Ann’s Parish, Jamaica, leaving home at 14 to pursue a music career in Kingston. A naturally gifted musician and singer he recorded his first track in 1962. In ’72 finding himself stranded in London with his band the Wailers he signed to Chris Blackwell’s Island Records and went on to enjoy global success and to put reggae on the music map. Many of his songs – which highlighted both Jamaica’s poverty and the spirituality of its people – have since become universal anthems. MARLEY died of cancer on May 11, 1981, aged 36.

Says Kevin MacDonald: ” MARLEY the film is an intimate, human portrait of the legendary singer . But as with any film about an artist – the main purpose has got to be to send the listener back to the music with a renewed appreciation for its beauty and significance. That’s why I am so happy that Island are releasing this special collection of songs from and inspired by the movie.

Says Chris Blackwell: “Kevin MacDonald has made a wonderful film about Marley. I think it will touch the hearts of many. It tells Bob’s story properly for the first time and you get a real sense of the man and his incredible talent. His spiritual message is as relevant now as it ever was and his music still resonates around the world.

The soundtrack to ‘MARLEY’ will be released on Island Records on 16th April ’12. It includes, for the first time on record, the 1978 One Love Peace concert performance of ‘Jammin’ during which Marley joined the hands of bitter political rivals Michael Manley and Edward Seaga, a gesture which went some way towards restoring peace to a strife-torn Jamaica. The tracklisting of the soundtrack, which follows the chronology of the film, is as follows:

1. Corner Stone
2. Judge Not
3. Simmer Down
4. Put It On
5. Small Axe
6. Mellow Mood
7. Stir It Up
8. Concrete Jungle
9. Crazy Bald Heads
10. Natty Dread
11. Trenchtown Rock (live at The Roxy)
12. Get Up Stand Up
13. Work
14. Jammin (live at One Love Peace Concert)
15. Exodus (Kindred Spirit Dub Mix)
16. No Woman Now Cry (Live at the Lyceum)
17. War
18. I Shot the Sheriff (Live at the Lyceum)
19. Roots Rock Reggae
20. Three Little Birds
21. Real Situation
22. Could you Be Loved
23. One Love / People Get Ready
24. Redemption Song
25. High Tide Or Low Tide



Kevin MacDonald’s detailed portrait of Bob Marley grapples with the last king of reggae’s philosophical and religious convictions. 4*”

The Guardian 13.2.12

“A documentary with scope and soul, this cradle-to-grave portrait of Bob Marley…is bottling what made Asif Kapadia’s ‘Senna’ such a success. 4*”

Daily Telegraph 14.2.12

“One of the main treats in Berlin was Kevin MacDonald’s massive feature documentary ‘Marley’…What makes it inspiring is the music, the exhaustive research and the personality of Marley.”

The Independent 17.2.12

“…the most enjoyable film so far is ‘Marley’, in which the life and career of the reggae icon is explored through archive footage and enlightening interviews with some of Marley’s most idiosyncratic collaborators…”

Time Out 16.2.12


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *