Bob Marley & The Wailers In Dub Vol. 1

In Dub Vol. 1, the first in a series of collections of classic, rare and new dub excursions from the Bob Marley & The Wailers catalog, will be released physically for the first time on July 31st, 2012 by Island/Tuff Gong/UMe. This collection was previously released in digital format only in 2010 with several tracks making their CD/vinyl debut. The debut set features 10 classic dub remixes and a newly-crafted dub version of the classic “Lively Up Yourself” entitled “Lively Up Your Dub,” by foundation dub mix engineer Scientist, exclusive to this package.

Bob Marley remains reggae’s greatest icon and a monumental musical figure of our time and continues to inspire and influence people around the world. One of the most charismatic and challenging performers in history, Marley was a musical, political and even spiritual figure of mythical proportions – both poet and prophet, hero and rebel—whose legacy continues to resonate as his music is revealed and rediscovered by new generations.

The Third World’s first superstar and arguably one of the most recognizable human beings on the planet, reggae giant Bob Marley was also celebrated this year in a film, MARLEY, by Academy Award-winning director Kevin Macdonald (“One Day In September,” “State Of Play,” “The Last King Of Scotland,” “Touching The Void” and “Life In A Day”). Produced by Steve Bing (Shangri-La Entertainment) and Charles Steel (Cowboy Films), and executive produced by Bob’s son Ziggy Marley and Island Records founder Chris Blackwell, MARLEY featured stunning live performances, intimate interviews with friends and family, and rare documentary footage – all of which tells the definitive story of the superstar who rose from the ghetto to become one of the greats of popular music before dying tragically young at the height of his fame. MARLEY will debut on DVD and Blu-ray on August 7, 2012.

As an integral companion piece to this critically acclaimed documentary, the official soundtrack from MARLEY was released as a 2-CD collection and a special 3-LP vinyl set. The CD contains 24 tracks, hand-picked by the Marley family and Blackwell, gathering together some of the most significant musical moments of one of the most beloved and cherished artists of all-time. Featured are classic studio recordings, a special Kindred Spirit dub mix of “Exodus” and tracks from various live performances including, for the first time on record, the 1978 One Love Peace Concert performance of “Jammin'” during which Marley joined the hands of bitter political rivals Michael Manley and Edward Seaga, a gesture which went some way towards restoring peace to a strife-torn Jamaica.

“No one in rock and roll has left a musical legacy that matters more or one that matters in such fundamental ways,” wrote music writer Robert Palmer upon Marley’s posthumous induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Attesting to the power and relevance of that music, Bob Marley lives on.


  • 1. Roots, Rock, Dub
  • 2. Is This Love Dub (previously unavailable on album)
  • 3. Forever Loving Jah Dub (previously unavailable on album)
  • 4. Lively Up Your Dub
  • 5. Three Little Birds Dub
  • 6. Crazy Baldhead Dub (previously unavailable on album)
  • 7. Waiting In Vain Dub (previously unavailable on album)
  • 8. Jamming Version
  • 9. One Love/People Get Ready Dub (mix previously unavailable on album)
  • 10. She’s Gone Dub (previously unavailable on album)
  • 11. Smile Jamaica Version

Get it now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *