Alborosie presents his new studio album ‘Freedom & Fyah’ on 20 May 2016

The reggae singer, producer & multi-instrumentalist, Alborosie presents his new studio album ‘Freedom & Fyah’ out 20 May 2016 on Greensleeves Records. Reggae music is no longer confined by race, skin colour or nationality.

Freedom & Fyah
Available on Vinyl, CD & DigitalGlobal
Release Date: 2 May 2016
Catalog #: VPGS7041

It always did have a global message, but the culture that it represents has now extended way beyond Jamaica. Alborosie’s success is symbolic of this new spirit sweeping the reggae world. The Sicilian born artist, who has spent over a decade living in Jamaica, delivers revolutionary songs with deep, heavy roots rhythms that have become his trademark. He is the complete package – a festival headliner who’s written, played and produced a succession of bestselling albums since his 2008 debut ‘Soul Pirate’, and now this latest set ‘Freedom & Fyah’. Alborosie explains that the new album has “a very strong dub influence, and with signs of dubstep and electronic music in some of the tracks.”Lyrically, he covers similar topics including love, revenge, politics and social commentary. Freedom & Fyah delivers un-compromising Rasta lyrics, on blazing roots tunes ‘Can’t Cool’, ‘Judgement’ and ‘Cry’ which derides the gunmen who’ve turned Kingston’s inner city communities into killing fields.

Alborosie has major guest features on the album including Jamaica reggae star Protoje on ‘Strolling’ and Ky-Mani Marley on the love song ‘Life To Me’. He also introduces rising artists like Sandy Smith on ‘Carry On’ and Sugus (former back up vocalist for Dennis Brown and Gregory Isaacs) on ‘Zion Youth’ and the Reggae/EDM-influenced weed anthem ‘Fly 420.’

The song‘Poser’ is one of the two recent hits included on the album anda clear example of staying true to yourself andstanding up for what you believe in.

Alborosie’s track ‘Fly 420’ featuring Sugus will be available on 15 April 2016 as the first track on ‘Reggae Dubs & Dabs’, a seven track EP of uplifting ganja tunes to be released on VP’s Dub Rockers Imprint in time for the 4/20 celebrations.

Track Listing
1.Alborosie ft. Rev. Rohan Treleven – The Prophecy
2.Alborosie – Can’t Cool
3.Alborosie ft. Suggs – Fly 420
4.Alborosie – Cry
5.Alborosieft. Protoje – Strolling
6.Alborosie – Rocky Road
7.Alborosie – Poser
8.Alborosie – Judgement
9.Alborosie ft. Ky-mani Marley – Life To Me
10.Alborosie – Rich
11.Alborosie ft. Sandy Smith – Carry On
12.Alborosie (Roots Radics DJ Appearance By Pupa Avril) – Everything
13.Alborosie ft. Suggs – Zion Youth

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *