ALBUM: MO’KALAMITY & THE WIZARDS – Freedom of the Soul

Since the release of her first album “Warriors of Lights” in 2007,  Mo’Kalamity has found her place on the reggae roots scene. Still on her journey to independence, the Cape Verdean singer releases her third album in October 2013.

Once more songwriter Mo’Kalamity has surrounded herself by her band, The Wizards, to put together the 12 tracks that make up her new album “Freedom of the Soul.” They take advantage of the bond that unites them to deliver a new militant rebel roots album, recorded by the talented FabWize at Wize Studio.

Always driven by the same passion, sincerity and unwavering love for reggae, Mo’Kalamity returns with a powerful album. Between spiritual texts and protest songs, the singer calls more urgently than ever for a “wake up call for consciousness.” Already enjoying a solid reputation with the reggae audience, for reggae fans this is a long awaited album from an artist of undoubted potential!

Her first album was called Africa; a symbol for this native of the Cape Verde Islands, located in the Atlantic Ocean, off the African coast. Arriving in France as a child, Mo’kalamity grew up in Paris. Largely inspired by Caribbean and African-American music; she recognises reggae as “self-evident” “for the message and power of the music.” Selftaught,
Mo’ began as a backing singer before, in 2004, forming her own group with her band The Wizards. Her debut album “Warriors of Light”, released in 2007, was selfproduced with the support of public and of Assos’pikante. The album was reissued in 2008.

An event celebrated at New Morning, in partnership with Mondomix magazine. Mo’ quickly gained a place on the reggae scene largely dominated by men. Her sweet and melodious voice naturally rides on a deep and militant roots reggae rhythm. Between 2007 and 2008, Mo’ and her band The Wizards performed at many concerts and notably opened for Salif
Keita. The next year was dedicated to recording the second album “Deeper Revolution.” An album in which she evokes the riches and excesses of mankind: north/south inequalities, differences, violence against women…

“On this album, like many of my tunes, there is something urgent, to be delivered immediately.” The release of the CD in late 2009 was accompanied by two clips (Around You and Deeper Revolution) produced by Pietro Di Zanno. After many appearances in 2010 and 2011 with renowned artists such as Winston McAnuff , Rod Taylor, Aswad and The Gladiators; Mo’ and Wizards opened at Reggae Sun Ska Festival. These two years were also an opportunity for the band to perform beyond French borders: in Portugal with Queen Omega; and in her country of origin, Cape Verde, at the Bais Das Gatas Festival.

In 2011 Mo’ is nominated in the Cabo Verde Awards (in the categories “Best Reggae Album”, “Best Video” and “Revelation of the Year”) and a few months later is invited to perform dedicated the year to compose her new songs. In the autumn she got together with her musicians to complete all the arrangements for her new album, recorded and mixed at
Wize Studio. The album is produced on her own micro-label: Thea Sofia Records. In autumn 2013 she is ready to deliver a striking new militant roots album. Between spiritual texts and protest songs, this singer, songwriter and composer calls more urgently than ever for a “wake up call for consciousness.”

1. Frontline
2. Under The Rain
3. Struggle Of The Spirit
4. Nuances
5. Freedom
6. Strange Thing
7. Majesty
8. Cima Vento
9. Queen of Bees
10. Jah Live
11. Overcome
12. Majesty Dub

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *