Protoje’s ‘Ancient Future’ Album available as Pre-order now!

Protoje will be releasing his third studio album entitled ANCIENT FUTURE on 10th March, 2015. This sees a collaborative effort between Phillip ” Winta” James of Overstand Entertainment and Protoje’s entity, Indiggnation Collective coming to fruition to present an album that navigates through Jamaica’s musical history and presents it in a way that embodies an updated energy.

The album has a definitive sound and it identifies with the current temperature of the Jamaican music scene. It is a Step forward in breaking through new barriers and tries new ideas that embody the spirit of 1970’s and 80’s with the new energy of present times.

This album is iconic in a few ways. The collaboration with Winta James has resulted in Protoje discovering a sound tailor-made for his style of lyrical delivery. Their chemistry in the studio has definitely resulted in Protoje finding his sweet spot.

“When I write lyrics and get to hear them it’s almost like looking in a Mirror.” Says Protoje. ” I try to be honest to what I was feeling in my chest and speak it to get the chance to reflect and learn from it. The music on this album allowed me the freedom to do so. Working with Winta has really made me into a better artist in that having observed me as an artist over the years he was able to evaluate my strength and weaknesses.”

From his first two albums, we were introduced to a newcomer who quickly became the “brand new prince pon the scene” (as heard in ‘Who Dem A Program’). In Ancient Future, Protoje has clearly established a throne and the bounds of his kingdom.

While reggae is the obvious root of his expression, this new album really blurs the line between reggae and hiphop in a way that will be most pleasant to fans of both genres.

At the same time, he represents the spirit of the Reggae Revival well and enlists fellow upcoming heavyweights, Chronixx, Jesse Royal and Kabaka Pyramid, showing that the movement is here to stay. Two tracks feature new comer, Sevana, an Indiggnation Collective Artist, whose soulful delivery is way above par and is sure to appeal to music lovers throughout the world.

Ancient Future Tracklist:

1. Protection (feat. Mortimer)
2. Criminal
3. Who Knows (feat. Chronixx)
4. All Will Have to Change
5. Stylin’
6. Love Gone Cold (feat. Sevana)
7. Sudden Flight (feat. Jesse Royal & Sevana)
8. Bubblin’
9. Answer To Your Name
10. Who Can You Call
11. The Flame (feat. Kabaka Pyramid)

All songs produced by Winta James.
“Bubblin'” produced by Winta James, Protoje Diggy and Paris Lamont.
“Answer To Your Name” produced by Winta James and Lewis Planter.

Ancient Future which is now available for Pre-Order on Itunes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *